What a busy, vegan college student eats . . .

I love to cook and bake, but oftentimes I get too busy to make things that are kind of time-consuming.

I’m a junior in college, and this semester has been especially crazy – I’ve been taking microbiology, anatomy, Scientific Principles of Food, Nutrition Through the Lifecycle, Applied General Nutrition (can you tell I’m a nutrition major?), as well as 4 labs. I feel like I live on campus, even though I commute!

Of course, work just makes everything extra-crazy. I work at a local Dunkin’ Donuts  – the perfect place for a Nutrition major to work, right? At least coffee (which I can’t drink!) has antioxidants, and we offer multi-grain bagels . . .  It’s not really the most vegan-friendly establishment, but it’s not a bad job – although portioning out the meat can be a little . . . disturbing for someone who abstains from animal products. But someday – SOMEDAY – I’ll have a job that I love, although I’m not quite sure what that is yet.

Anyways, back to the topic: what DOES a busy, vegan college student eat? Here’s a list of my favorite super-quick, super-healthy meals and snacks:

Meals – Breakfast
Oatmeal! I cannot say enough good things about oatmeal – especially when I’m feeling a little creative and add a multitude of ingredients to it. Recipes to come.
Tofu Shakes: I use silken tofu as the base of many of my breakfast shakes, and add things like bananas, berries, additional protein powder (if I’m really hungry!), PB2, flavor extracts, etc. etc. Recipes to come.
Chocolate-Covered Katie’s breakfast recipesthis girl is amazing! If you’re staring into your cereal bowl with pure boredom and haven’t checked out her website, PLEASE do; you’ll never look at breakfast the same!
Fruit salad: my favorite combo is 1 apple + 1 pear + 1 banana + lots of strawberries. I usually have this with some Sunwarrior Protein powder (mixed with almond milk, cinnamon, and stevia) to hold me over longer.

Meals – Lunch/Dinner
Impromptu Chinese: I try to ALWAYS have pre-cut, pre-washed frozen veggies in my freezer; tofu and store-bought Chinese sauces – preferably lower-sugar ones; I really like the La Choy Orange Ginger sauce – a little goes a long way! Then, when I want Chinese but am pressed for time (or tired after a long school/work day, I just saute the veggies with soy sauce and a little water in one pan, and heat the tofu with 1-2 TBSP of the sauce in another. It takes maybe a whole 10 minutes, and I have an AWESOME healthy dinner.
Sandwiches: Okay, there are really so many different kinds of sandwiches to make. My favorites are vegan tuna and egg salad (to make an authentic-tasting egg salad, I bought this stuff – it makes the most amazing no-egg salad ever). However, I also love veggie sandwiches. Actually, my VERY favorite (probably not super-substantial, but whatever) sandwich consists of MANY lettuce leaves (like 7-8; I like love lettuce) rolled up in a Joseph’s lavash with my “secret sauce” (2 TBSP Nayonaise + 1 TBSP ketchup + 1/2 tsp. Cajun seasoning + 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika). Simple. Amazing.
One-Pot Wonders: Crockpot meals are always good – especially stews (I made a beef-less stew with Gardein beef-less tips, carrots, potatoes, and onions – OUT OF THIS WORLD), soups (chunky tomato soup and lentil soup are both yummy), and slow-cooker vegetables.
Homemade Seitan: On a low-key day, make a bunch freeze it up, and you can use it to make sandwiches, stir-fry, or just about any recipe that calls for meat (or something meat-like). It’s really quite easy! Check out my recipe for Smokey Seitan – it’s so good!

Snacks
Fresh fruit
Veggie sticks with hummus, nut/seed butter, or plain
Homemade coleslaw: (recipe near the bottom of the page; I sub agave nectar for the honey and I don’t use the grill seasoning because I never have any) I make a HUGE bowl on low-key days, and it can last for up to a week (unless I decide to eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, then maybe not as long – it’s that good!)
Salad. I’m a salad addict . . . especially when there’s nutritional yeast on it!
Luna Bars
Pumpkin puree right from the can, mixed with stevia, pumpkin pie spice, and a little almond milk (I’m weird, I know)

Well, that’s all for now – but I WILL be posting more recipes, SOON! I’m done with school in a week and a half . . . get ready for a recipe storm. ;)

Leave a Reply

