A Bit(e) About Me & A Recipe

Where to begin . . .

Well, I’m currently entering my third year of college, pursuing a degree as a Registered Dietitian. I became a began back in March and since then I’ve become much more fond of cooking; I find it quite enjoyable and exciting!

Here’s just a simple recipe to kick-start my blog. It’s not really Asian or American . . . I guess it’s just a bit of a mishmash concoction. Either way, it tastes yummy and can be prepared in no time.

……….

Tofu Veggie Stir-fry (380 calories) ~ Serves 1

½ TBSP toasted sesame oil (I use Spectrum Brand)

150g extra firm tofu

2 oz. shredded carrots (a cheese grater works perfectly)

1 oz. white mushrooms, coarsely chopped

½ cup spaghetti squash (previously cooked)

85g Brussel sprouts, halved

85g cauliflower, cut into bite-size pieces

2 TBSP teriyaki sauce (I use Soy Vay’s Veri Veri Teriyaki)

  1. Put the toasted sesame oil and tofu into a large frying pan over medium-high heat. Cook until tofu reaches desired color (browned or not; it’s up to you!), 5-7 minutes.
  2. Add the carrots, mushrooms, spaghetti squash, Brussel sprouts, and cauliflower. Cook for 1-3 minutes, or until cooked through.
  3. Add the teriyaki sauce and cook for about 1 minute more.
  4. Serve hot and eat as quickly as possible. (Kidding!)If you want, drizzle with Bragg’s Liquid Aminos (healthier alternative to soy sauce), toss with a little pickled ginger (Ginger People brand is delicious), or serve with brown rice, quinoa, or anything else you want. Enjoy!

~SMS

2 thoughts on “A Bit(e) About Me & A Recipe

  1. I had your Bulgur, Tofu & Every-Veggie-Under-The-Sun Pilaf for dinner last night, and all I can say is it was delicious! Normally, im not really into tofu even being a vegan myself, but the vegetables really complemented it and i loved it ;). I just started being vegan 9 months ago, and i’ve had a little trouble finding foods (mainly dinners) that I really enjoy without using meat and dairy products, but I have to say, your Pilaf really got me! Good luck with your blog!

  2. Wow! Oh my gosh, I’m so happy that you liked it! 😀 Ha-ha I’m not even kidding, I just told my family, “Yeah, that thing I made for dinner, someone actually made it and even said it was GOOD!” Thank you! I’ll be posting more recipes soon! If tonight’s concoction is successful, I’ll post that recipe. Pray that my pan doesn’t explode or anything. 😉

Leave a Reply

