Sweet ‘n Sour Stir-fry – With a Lime-y Twist

Sweet ‘n Sour. Mmmm . . . such a delicious combination. When I got home from work today, I was craving the flavors of my favorite Chinese dish. I have a bottle of sweet ‘n sour sauce in my pantry, but unfortunately, it has a flavor reminiscent of Spaghetti-O’s – yummy in their own right (though I have not eaten them in years), but definitely NOT a flavor to be desired in a Chinese dish! What I DID have was a bottle of Maple Groves Wasabi Dijon dressing. Weeks ago, I had the idea to mix a bit of the Wasabi Dijon with some lime juice, and noticed that it had a similar taste to a sweet ‘n sour dish; fortunately, I remembered to use the two together today – and the results were nothing short of amazing (at least to my tastebuds!).

I also made a quick cauliflower-golden beet “rice,” sprinkled with Bragg’s Liquid Aminos, to serve alongside the main dish.

About halfway through the meal, I mixed the “rice” into the tofu mixture, and it reminded me a bit of fried rice. Is it terrible that, before I was even finished eating, I was already planning to make it again? Yes, it’s good. If you’d like the recipe, here you go!

Sweet ‘n Sour Stir-Fry and “Rice” ~ Serves 1

Cauliflower-Golden Beet “Rice:

1 small golden beet, ends removed (peeling optional)

4 oz cauliflower

Grate beet with a cheese grater and put into a small mixing bowl. Chop the cauliflower into tiny pieces (see picture), and add to the beets. Toss together, and sprinkle with soy sauce or Bragg’s Liquid Aminos, if desired. Set aside.

Sauteed Veggies:

6 oz. eggplant, cut into bit-size pieces

5 oz. button mushrooms, sliced

2 oz. broccoli

2 oz. cauliflower

3 TBSP water

Sautee veggies in water over medium heat, stirring occasionally, for about 7-8 minutes, or until tender. While veggies are sauteeing, prepare tofu and sauce. When veggies are finished cooking, remove from heat and place a lid over the top.

Sweet ‘n Sour Sauce & Tofu:

1/2 cup Maple Groves Wasabi Dijon dressing (yes, you’ll need this much; there are many veggies to be smothered in it!)

1/4 cup key lime juice

1 TBSP corn starch

8 oz tofu (I used Nasoya Light Firm)

Combine first three ingredients in a sauce pan, and whisk well to incorperate the corn starch. Heat over high heat for 3-4 minutes, stirring constantly, until it thickens a bit. Add tofu and cook over low-medium heat for 2 minutes. While the sauteed veggies are still in the pan that was used to cook them, pour sweet ‘n sour mixture over the top, and stir so that all of the veggies get coated with the sauce.

Enjoy!

~SMS

Leave a Reply

